With many problems of transport and accommodation in cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, the increasingly severe accommodation and transport problems in many cities have caused some governors to take a new policy into consideration. This decision associates with several advantages which are more significant than disadvantages.

There are a few drawbacks arising from the policy encouraging enterprises to move out of urban areas. The wave of urban-rural business relocation may put some employees on the verge of unemployed unless they accept to travel long distances to work. My uncle is a telling example. His company is relocated to a place that twice as far as the previous; as a result, he has to get up earlier and come back home later, which might lead to his shortage of time for family. Moreover, there being the lack of stationery and entertaining service, this movement may make people’s life in central areas become uncomfortable.

However, I believe the benefits of such a policy far more outweighs than its shortcomings. Once business are relocated to the countryside, their employees will not have to seek accommodation in the city center, and the shortage of housing in downtown areas can be mitigated. Therefore, the financial burden of parents and young couples might be eased. Some economic researches have pointed out that since governors implemented this policy, 70% of cities’ residents can have house on their own, and even save a large amount of money for their future. Besides, thanks to the business removal, the traffic congestion in downtown areas reduces at all cost, which is also the answer for the prevention of traffic accidents.

In conclusion, governmental decision of relocating businesses has greater benefits than the shortcomings. For these reasons, it is recommended that all governors adopt this policy.