In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. Languages) and boys choose science subjects (e.g. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is believed that girls have a tendency to enroll in art classes while boys prefer attending science classes. This trend is caused by some reasons and should be made a change.

The tendency to choose subjects following their gender is based on some reasons. The first one is that the choice of subject reflects gender specific characteristics. In terms of the portrayal of women, they are better at expressing themselves and appreciate the aesthetic qualities of works of art so that they will be high-flyers as art students. While men are generally more logical, hence, they have a better grasp of analytical subjects such as math, physics. Secondly, students are bombarded by traditional conception that art subjects are for girls and science subjects suit for men. For instance, men hesitate to study literature because it is believed that literature is not born for men and out of their depth, therefore, they are likely to fall behind their peers.

However, it is necessary to have an immediate alteration. If pupils were forced to study subjects that are not their favorite ones due to social perception, it would be responsible for the lack of young people’s interest in studying. In the long run, this habit could cause students’ negative attitude about school because they don’t make the grade for their subjects. In addition, should people make a change for this tendency, students are more likely to have a chance to be at liberty to follow their beloved subjects. As a result, society might be able to eradicate gender discrimination about choosing courses and encourage young people to pursue their passion.

In conclusion, the tendency to attend classes at school of students based on gender is due to some reasons including particular characteristics and traditional perception, and people should have a alteration for this issue.