Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Leading-edge technology leads scientists to think that cars will be controlled by computers sooner or later. Despite some drawbacks, I would argue that the benefits it could bring overshadow its disadvantages.

There are some reasons why it is possible for people to use computer-driven cars. Firstly, thanks to advances in technology, people are able to innovate cars which are controlled by computers. In addition, these cars would have navigating system connecting to satellite which allows human being to easily choose appropriate routes that avoid traffic jam and speed up journey time. Secondly, people often depend on their emotion while driving such as anxiety and being intoxicated which could put a threat to their life. Therefore, it is reasonable for human to use self-driving cars which help them to get rid of life-threating situations.

It is undeniable that driverless cars have both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that life would be much more convenient with the appearance of artificial intelligence. On the one hand, cars driven by computers are not helpful in some emergency circumstances. For example, if people want to take patient to the hospital as fast as possible but speed is limited by computers because they are programmed to adhere to law in order to guarantee safety ground. On the other hand, computerized cars are suitable for people who have physical disability or mental health problems. If the elderly could use cars without others’ supervision, they would live more independently and reduce a burden for their family members whenever they want to visit their friends or their relatives by their own.

All things considered, it is likely for people to use driverless cars in the future. Moreover, it seems to me that the benefits would outweigh the disadvantages.