Many scientists believe that now we can study the behavior of a three-year-old child to see whether they will grow up to be criminals. To what extent do you think crime is determined by human nature? Is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

Nowadays, it is a common belief within the scientific field that a person’s potential to be a criminal can be determined in their childhood. However, I think that external factors are more pivotal to one’s development into criminal, and thus intensive care for children should be provided by the government and parents to raise ideal citizens.

Like other human qualities, most anti-social behaviours are acquired and the impact of inborn impulse is comparably minimal. Considering that for many people their personalities change throughout their life, it is obvious that interactions with others and experience take a huge part in the establishment of one’s disposition. And among all constituents of life, the biggest contributor to an individual’s criminality would be their home environment in earlier life. Since the home is where people spend most of their time as a child, it prominently shapes their morals and ethics. To illustrate, a child from a poor family may have a higher likelihood of burglary and theft than those with wealthy parents. As they grow up, impoverished children would continue to commit crimes, as illegal acts would settle in their lifestyle as a means to survive. Therefore, the criminal tendency is not ingrained but is cultivated throughout one’s life.

Since childhood is a significant phase of life that affects one’s development of mannerisms, measures should be taken to keep children mentally and physically fit. Governments should ensure that children are properly treated at their homes and provide help where needed. This can be done by dispatching inspectors to their homes to investigate any signs of poverty, abuse or other household problems and support those affected. On top of that, parents should be responsible for caring for their children and supporting them emotionally. As parents constitute a huge part of a child’s life, building a strong bond with their parents will result in children’s overall satisfaction with their life and a less likelihood to act against society in the long run.

In summary, one’s criminality ensues from extrinsic factors like upbringing, rather than their genes. Therefore, governments and families should invest in the quality life of children and foster a good household environment.