Many students are now taking a year off after finishing high school and before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many students intend to take a gap year between high school graduation and pursuing higher education period. The advantages of this phenomenon are evident and its disadvantages are no less noticeable.

On the one hand, its merits seem evident. Having taken a gap year, students have the tendency to apply for a job or involve in numerous charities during their one-year break. It makes sense that they are able to meet more people and face various work situations, hence get the opportunities to hone practical skills and experiences such as communication skill, decision-making as well as become more flexible. Therefore, these students may find it feasible to diversify and enrich their experiences to successfully seek for their own career orientation. In addition, taking a gap year can help students feel at ease by giving them time to recharge, refocus, and learn about themselves on their own terms.

Conversely, there are abundant disadvantages of this trend. Firstly, the off-school period makes it difficult for students to rekindle their study habits as well as recall their knowledge at school, which leads to the ruins of students’ experiences and routines. Besides, students do not go to school during that time, they are prone to fall victim to many social evils such as drug addiction and alcoholism due to the lack of their school management. As a consequence, these juveniles will become harmful and dangerous to their society and community.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the merits of taking a gap year seem to be more considerable than its downsides.