Many students are now taking a year off after finishing high school and before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many students tend to take a gap year between high school graduation and pursuing a higher education time. Not only are the advantages of this phenomenon evident but its disadvantages are also no less noticeable.

On the one hand, its merits seem evident. Having taken a gap year, students tend to apply for a job or involve in numerous charities during their one-year break. It makes sense that they can meet more people and face various work situations, hence get the opportunities to hone practical skills and experiences such as communication skills, decision-making as well as become more flexible. Therefore, these students may find it feasible to diversify and enrich their experiences to successfully seek their career orientation. In addition, taking a gap year can help students feel at ease by giving them time to recharge, refocus, and learn about themselves on their terms.

Conversely, there are a bunch of disadvantages to this trend. Firstly, the off-school period makes it difficult for students to rekindle their study habits and recall their knowledge at school, which leads to the ruins of students’ experiences and routines. Besides, students who do not go to school during that time are prone to fall victim to many social evils such as drug addiction and alcoholism due to the lack of school management. As a result, these juveniles will become harmful and dangerous to their society and community.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the merits of taking a gap year seem to be more considerable than its downsides.