Many students are taught to push themselves to try and be better than other students, rather than work together for everyone?s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

When thinking about the attitudes that students are supposed to have to their counterparts, most people probably fall somewhere between two extremes. On one side is the approach taken by most parents, who take great endeavor for their children to stand out among peers. On the other is the view expressed by some educators that students ought to learn to cooperate for everyone's benefits.

Granted, it is the widely accepted truth that teamwork plays an increasingly essential role in work and academic research. A team which involves colleagues from various kinds of background is gaining popularity in modern companies. As for academic research, there is a tendency that a group rather than a single person accounts for rising proportion of the

Nobel Prize winners.

Nevertheless, this does not mean that trying to excel others is harmful to students' development. For one thing, an excellent group generally consists of great members. Even if people were not aware of the fact that the worst soccer player is never admitted to the best soccer team, they can also draw from the experience that less smart people are more likely to be rejected by prominent firms.

For another, students tend to take free ride in a tear if schools lay too much emphasis on cooperation. After all, it is not impossible that a student in a team always do the easiest

part of the work, which is hard to avoid and is not helpful for their future work and study.

All in all, the advantages of pushing students to try and be better than others far outweigh the disadvantages.