Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Nowadays, taking a year off before entering university is more favorable for some students. While this trend may bring about some benefits, I would argue that they are eclipsed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are a wide range of major advantages when students chose to spend theirs time travelling or taking a job before enrolling to university. The first benefit is that this option may enable them to have more relax time to enjoy themselves after many years following the of high school education. This allows them to refresh their mind and have more energy to enter university later. Another beneficial side of this trend is that they could learn some new skills or find out their true passion when travelling or taking a part-time job in their gap year. My close friends, for example, they are now very successfully because they have chosen to take a gap year before enrolling to university which give them more time to understand their inner talents before choosing a way to follow.

On the other hand, I personally believe that the drawbacks are more significant than such advantages. Firstly, people who chose to have a break time might end up enormous stress due to waste their time and money. Secondly, taking a gap year often demotivates students from continuing learning. There are many students who chose to take a gap year will never return to school anymore because they think that they have followed behind their same-age friends. Finally, there is very little work with higher salary for high school students.

In conclusion, while taking a gap year may have some positive aspects such as having more time to relax and learning new skills, I believe that they are outweighed by the more significant negative effects as regarded to demotivating their future learning, more chances to quit school.