Many universities students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Nowadays, students have abundant choices of accommodation while studying at universities, they can live independently away from home or stay at parents’ residential area. In mu opinion, whatever they choose, it brings about both drawbacks and benefits as well.

It is very common for students in Western-based culture to live away from their parents at early ages. The main advantage is that whether they work their way through university or earn a living on their own, they can earn money and gain valuable experience, which is closely related to their further development and future success. Furthermore, by doing jobs to pay off a student loan or necessary demands, they can improve a lot of skills, such as time and financial management skills. However, students also have to deal with many problems when they live outside home. One the disadvantages is finding accommodation. As most universities are located in big cities, where rents are high and cost of living keeps raising continuously.

On the other hand, in many Asian countries such as Vietnam, where traditional values play an integral role in youth lives, the downsides seem to outweigh the benefits. First, many students become over-reliant on their parents while they are grown-up. It is because of some specific characteristics of parents in these countries, they sometimes help their kids so much that children do not know what they should do. Second, some home situations might disrupt students’ studies. For example, family routines distract students from work, especially when they have to concentrate on their studies. However, when living at home with family, students can enjoy family supports such as sharing meals, heating costs, or even sharing a room with other members, which are the country’s long-standing values.

In conclusion, I argue that there are both potential advantages and disadvantages of living at home or away from home, and it also depends much on the students’ cultural background.