Many university students live with their families while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations.

University settlement has been highlighted as an emerging issue among post-secondary students, escaping broader public attention in recent decades. Given that some students choose to live with parents and some decide to live away from home, both situtations could bestow both positive and negative ramifications.

Living with parents have both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, Students would not have to incur expenditure including accommodation, transportation fees and service bills. Due to not being financially-pressurized, students could focus more on studying, increasing their academic attainments. On the other hand, since young individuals have a penchant for having different perspectives or mentalities towards the ways of living from their parents, misunderstandings and conflicts could be inevitable. This could deteriorate the family bonding, possibly leading to the estrangement from parents.

However, some benefits and drawbacks could be obverved in residing far from home. First, in order to maintain their life, students would have to acquire the skills of self caring, financial management and money earning. It is implied that these would act as an incentive for students’ independance, personal responsibility and maturity, which are proved to be essential characteristics of success in life. In contrast, since there is no parental supervision, the possibilities of students engaging into social evils are very strong. For instance, due to nagative peer pressure, toptier students could be coerced into criminal organizations or taking addictive substances such as nicotine and cocaine, wreaking havoc on individuals’ lives.

In conclusion, both mentioned situations coud result in both upsides and downsides. However, tertiary students should take some personal factors into considerations such as financial power, university locations, life managing ablitities to choose the best place to reside.