Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Most of the universities are located in big cities instead of remote areas, because of the limited resource of finance. Therefore, while many students can live with their parents, others are forced to move into other places for learning. It is true that both circumstances have a number of advantages and disadvantages.

Living with family can make significant contributions to building students’ ethics in their formative years. In fact, if students live in their homes, their parents will have more opportunities to keep them in harness and give them a piece of advice when university students fall into wrong behaviours. Thanks to supervision from their parents, the young generation could have better morals. Besides the advantage, the drawback that can be seen in the situation is excessive dependence on their families. The reason for this is that living close to families, students have not chances to experiment with difficulties in real life. Therefore, these students would have a lack of practical skills which are really essential and important in the latter stage of their life.

On the other hand, university students living away from their families also meet many good points and bad points. As regarding to advantages, such students can cultivate and improve their self-made skill themselves, because they usually have to make their own decisions as well as charge responsibilities of their own life. It is likely that the students could be able to be more adaptive to the today’s ever-changing society. However, there are still various disadvantages. It is evident that young people living in other cities can be easily enticed by bad people and fall into a wide variety of social evils due to the deficiency of care from families. As a result, these students could become unuseful people, even dangerous ones in the society.

In conclusion, living with or away from relatives, university students can face many different drawbacks. Nevertheless, there are certain advantages in each situation.