Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Starting adult life has always been terrifying for yesterday school graduates. Some of them decide to stay with their parents and others move to campuses or rent a flat near the university. Although, I agree that living in parents house possesses many positive features, changing location to dormitory or rented place helps youngers to learn a world of new skills.

On the one hand, university newcomers do not have to pay for accommodation if they live at home and they are often provided with pocket-money as well as home-made food. In contrast, they are suffering from lack of freedom and dependence on parents. For example, according to a survey in 2019 those university graduates, who lived at home during their studies, stated to be unhappy in their current life twice more than others. Thus, living with parents students meet more difficulties in the future because they have to overcome the same problems as others later all together.

On the other hand, young people face a bunch of issues moving from mother and father such as new responsibilities, calculating taxes, paying bills and chores, but all of them are parts of adult life. The negative factors become positive through time as it leads to one’s independence and help concentrating on studying better while most of family problems do not bother them. For instance, the creator of Facebook invented it during living at university to solve communication difficulty. In other words, the most famous social network would not have existed if its owner had not had university life experience.

Taking everything into account it can be concluded that despite all benefits home provides to learners, university life experience with its downsides prepare them to the future adult life and problem they will have to manage later.