Many young people change their jobs and careers. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In my opinion, sociological and economic reasons can be used to explain why some young employees usually change their jobs or career paths, which is both beneficial and risky to them, as will now be discussed.

Firstly, today most people choose their jobs based on their financial expectation. Thus, it is not hard to imagine why they are willing to move to different jobs as long as they offer a better salary base. This is even more popular among newly graduated workers as they tend to have higher expectation of their income levels, and they will not stop seeking for new employment until they find the one with satisfactory payment.

Secondly, sociological reasons, such as the influence of social ties, also explain why the young do not stay with a certain occupation in the first place. For example, my friends often tell me that they keep changing jobs when looking at the career success of their ex-classmates, or when receiving advice from their relatives.

Personally, I believe that job jumping has greater drawbacks than benefits. As the youth do not always define their career path correctly in the beginning, changing occupancy will provide them with not only experience but also a good notion of what they should really do. However, poor records of job retention are often less appreciated by new employers, and frequent job jumpers also find it hard to build up a steady career path in comparison with normal peers.

In conclusion, career changing among young employees has the roots from financial expectation and social influence, and this has clear disadvantages for the young despite undeniable advantages mentioned above.