Many young people change their jobs and careers. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a growing trend that young employees change their professions every short period of time. This can stem from many causes and whether this is a positive or a negative tendency depends on the workers.

There are many factors responsible for this trend, the most important of which is that young generations are carrying the expectation to be successful from the society. This over-expectation is causing millennials to be judgmental of themselves and compare their career paths to their peers. As a result, many people have switched companies, jobs, or even career paths after just a few years in pursuit of more chance of being successful. Young workers form poor rural regions, for example, are put under great pressure to eradicate urban poverty and as a result, they often encounter depressions since they have to run after colleagues’ success by becoming a job hopper.

While the advantages of this phenomenon can eclipse the disadvantages when young labors do this voluntarily, the opposite can be the case if they are pressured to do so. In fact, this would create more freedom for young people to experience multiple career paths before choosing the right one. Therefore, they can effectively deal with the challenging business environment as well as compete with other competitors from different backgrounds. However, there are some negative effects of doing so. By constantly jumping from one job to another, the employees are actually losing credibility from employers. When looking at these resume, the employers will assume that they are taking a risk of hiring ones with multiple short-term jobs.

In conclusion, although it is generally more advantageous to have a habit of switching jobs every few years if young people are willing to experience new knowledge, however, the benefits will be overshadowed by their drawbacks in case they are being put under social pressure.