The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree?

Many people hold the belief that the best solution to address environmental problems is to raise the price of fuel. While I think that this approach is effective to some extent, I disagree with the view that this is the most effective measure.

It is true that raising the cost of fuel can help address the problems of environmental degradation. Looking from an environmental perspective, it will discourage individuals and businesses from overconsuming fuel. As a result, this will decrease the amount of traffic and industrial emissions that constitute the principal source of greenhouse gases, hence slowing the process of global warming. This plan, however, should not be considered a holistic approach to the deterioration of the environment for it exerts a little effect on environmental degradation issues other than global warming, namely rampant habitat destruction due to illegal logging and animal trafficking.

Nevertheless, I would argue that there are several important alternations that must be taken into account such as imposing stringent laws on conservation and recovery of natural resources as well as illegal poaching and logging. Such actions will act as a deterrent to potential offenders and former convicts, thereby mitigating a wide range of environmental problems. This can be exemplified by the implementation of regulations in Vietnam, many law-breakers were heavily fined and received custodial sentences for poaching rhinos which have been put on red list recently.

In conclusion, while I am of the opinion that raising taxes on the cost of fuel is at best a short-term solution to the degradation of environment, more effective steps are required to deal with a wider range of environmental issues.