Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are opposing views regarding the lengthening sentence is the most effective method to control crime. From my perspective, while imposing a longer sentence is good for cutting crime in the short term, I believe there are more beneficial alternatives in the long run.

In the short run, it can be significantly advantageous if wrongdoers suffer long-term imprisonment. Advocates of this view often argue that the purpose of the longer prison sentence is to punish law-breakers and therefore act as a deterrent to avoid potential offenders and former convicts, hence reducing the crime rate. This can be exemplified by some Asian countries, as punishment for drug-selling can be an indefinite sentence, which in order to prevent youngsters from taking part in dissolute activities. However, by doing this, criminals are prone to be isolated from society and therefore have difficulty entering the workforce to make ends meet which will give rise to their chance of recidivism

In the long term, however, there will be far greater benefits if the government offers rehabilitation and educational programs to criminals behind bars. Such activities play an integral role in tackling crime as these help offenders reintegrate back into society and make a fresh start after being released, which is why the authority should prioritize this solution. For example, these educational systems can be found in some developed nations, where former convicts are presented to a variety of inexpensive to free-of-charge public vocational courses. Moreover, if delinquent ones are given a non-custodial sentence, they will not be isolated from the community and minimize the risk of participating in re-offending activities.

In conclusion, while longer penalties given by judicial systems can cut the criminal rate, other measures such as offering job prospect or giving a non-custodial sentence can be a better way to alleviate the problem