The mass media, including television, radio and newspaper, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

"Whoever controls the mass media, controls the mind", a well said quote about the influence mass media can have. The given statement asks that whether or not the mass media: Television, radio and newspapers; greatly affects people's idea and to what extent? I completely agree that the influence of mass media on people's minds is huge. In the following paragraphs I would list down some points to support my opinion.

Television has the most impact full and long lasting mark on one's ideology. It has been scientifically proven that visual and audio cues are the easiest to grab. Besides, people more easily believe in what they see with own eyes, as in this case an actor doing something in a commercial. For example: An actor might say he got longer and stronger hair after using a particular shampoo, in a TV commercial. Psychologically, people are more likely to prefer that shampoo over others, despite the fact that this actor may or may not be lying.

Radio broadcasts may not be so popular these days, however, newspapers are still a huge trend nationwide. Newspapers have the widest news and information coverage even more than TVs. There are more than 40,000 publications in India and all of them are printing all sort of news whether good or bad, right or wrong. As newspapers are printed on such a large scale and have so much huge coverage, they are the first choice for sending information to masses, thus influencing more minds. Also, based on the fact that newspapers are considered as a trusted source, people quickly believe what they read.

To sum up I would say any form of mass media holds the capacity to shape people's ideology. Hence, productions and publications should responsibly convey the right information to the general public.