Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world's meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world's meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause.

Meat production requires extra space than vegetable production, so some people opine that the world will run out of land. To stop this situation, reducing meat intake will help. Reducing the world’s meat consumption can be done in numerous ways, and it can pose many difficulties. In the next paragraph, I'll explain my reasoning.

Firstly, I feel that education has a major role to play in bringing about this change of lifestyle. The government should educate and encourage people about many positive effects of eating a diet that is high in vegetable consumption. A second measure would be financial. Taxes can be put on meat to make it more expensive. Raising the cost of meat is not the optimal option, but it is a good technique in terms of finding a solution quickly. In addition, the industrial sector ought to begin manufacturing synthetic meat that is based on plant materials, such as mushrooms and beans.

These efforts, meanwhile, can also cause some problems. It is really difficult for someone to change their eating nature within a short time of period. For instance, in Africa, where most people are poor and have no choice in what they eat, simply having food to fill their stomachs is enough. Besides, If meat is more expensive, other food companies that use it as an ingredient would be impacted and their food prices will go up. In addition, at the early stage, producing plant-based food might be quite difficult, making it highly pricey for some people.

In conclusion, because of some problems that those measures can cause, we need to take into account before applying. While cutting back on meat consumption can help with the space issue, I think there is a better way to go about it.