The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the skyrocketing development of technology in the century of 4.0 industrial revolutions, mass media plays a significant role in informing civilians and influencing people’s prejudice about daily issues. As a result, many people expect that positive news coverage is more regularly mentioned in all media platforms in today society. In my opinion, I partly concur with this idea of including more stories with great news because it still contains some drawbacks that need to be solved and consider.

On the one hand, the mainstream media should increase the proportion of effectively pleasing news. Most people concede with what they see and read in their favorite TV programs or trusted newspaper. Thanks to the press’s power toward their watchers, the government can partly influence citizen’s mindset and attitude by carrying a story intensively. Consequently, making great news the front page headline can significantly affect people’s observation and sentiment toward their current government which brings back a more stable political statement. Additionally, informing positive news more often can be an effective educational method which helps civilian more understanding and easily following the moral lessons in that good news.

On the other hand, the media have to consider how much is enough percentage of the stories reported good information. In every society, both positive and negative sides co-exist and the media’s responsibility is keeping people abreast as detailed and honest as they can of all daily news. Although increasing positive news can bring back some undeniable benefits, the media have to committee demonstrating enough tragedy and negative news that happen daily. So citizens can be aware and avoid involving in these catastrophes deliberately. Moreover, if the media shows citizens too much great news instead of the daily negative true, people will not have the motivation to change and eliminate these problems that they have to face.

To conclude, while raising the stories informed great news is beneficial in many perspectives, I firmly concur that the media also need to balance the proportion for all kinds of news including bad news and tragedy. I would highly recommend that the media should act as a watchdog and continue report all the significant both bad and good news in the world today while slightly increasing the amount of great news.