The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that broadcast stations and journalists should focus on positive news rather than negative news. In my perspective, I think that although good news is definitely beneficial for readers, bad news also has its own value which should not be underestimated. This essay will explain my reasoning.

There are two major factors why many people prefer to make positive stories a priority in different news channels and media outlets. First of all, good news could transmit positive effects on the general public. To be more specific, if most contents of social media lead towards positive stories, it helps restore our faith in humanity, which will encourage readers to stay optimistic, supportive and faithful. Second, in terms of education, piece of stories about the example of poor students overcoming difficulties will, to a certain extent, motivate others to study and have a positive psychological implication.

On the other hand, adverse news also show their own certain benefits which help people to stay aware of problems around them and take accordant actions. It is clear that shocking titles can easily draw the attention of the public, so using them as a tool to raise people's awareness regarding social matters or global issues would be the best way. For example, articles about the concerning climate changes have contributed to the popularly of the Earth Hour - an annual worldwide movement which encourages communities to turn off non-essential lightings in an hour. Another illustration is the increasing reports on plastic pollution which has caused serious damages to all living beings, and this has resulted in a movement to restrict the use of plastic products and plastic bags.

In conclusion, although releasing much good news on the mass media will spread positive effects on people's lives, bad news will point out the problems that people have not dealt with well, thereby offering suitable measures to solve.