Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

These days, with the number of industries and companies mushrooming, people are exposed to an ever-increasing amount of advertising. The omnipresence of commercials misleads consumers and increases their spending, so protective measures must be applied.

The fact that advertising has become a multibillion-dollar industry, and much research has gone into its development and effectiveness in order to help businesses sell more products and services. Although advertisement can provide many benefits to consumers, it can have quite a negative impact on individuals and society as a whole. Firstly, adverts do not always provide the right information about goods, some ads exaggerate data about products with clients. For that reason, they may make purchases without thinking and waste money for what they do not actually need, especially in young shoppers. Secondly, if they buy any products through ads, they will have to pay for an exorbitant price which including adverts cost. This spending outnumbers the real value of products or services, but buyers are unaware of this hidden cost.

Therefore, both consumers and governments need to take actions to protect against repercussions that advertisements bring about. One possible solution is for customers to raise their knowledge to make smart shopping. For example, instead of depending totally on misleading information and not specific images provided in advertisements, they should take feedbacks from previous buyers and based on that to determine whether a purchase should occur or not. Furthermore, governments should apply standardized prices and quality for the same product of all brand, which will still maintain the competitiveness among many companies and users also feel secure when shopping.

In conclusion, the explosion in advertising services has caused customers suffering many troubles. Thus, effective remedies should be taken by both individuals and authorities to mitigate the problems