Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you

think it is a positive or negative development?

In many places, commercial centers are gradually supplanting local stores. In my perspective, this change brings about both advantage and disadvantage, this essay will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that small shops can bring a wide range of benefit to communities. For example, family-run businesses are likely to provide goods with competitive prices because they do not have to spend much money on taxes and rental fees. In addition, more locally-owned small businesses are better for local economies and communities by supplying more employments, profits and income to local residents.

On the other hand, the boom in the number of shopping malls has offered customers a multitude of conveniences. First of all, people can save time shopping thanks to the availability of many types of stores located in a mall. It provides groceries, clothing, books, foods and entertainment facilities that can meet the needs of people of all ages under the one roof instead of in separate smaller stores.

Furthermore, the architecture and promotions of depots are other factors that attract buyers. Designers usually use strong light systems which help different items becoming more lively and this will stimulate people's shopping needs. Besides, most large malls provide customers with convenient and secure parking facilities makes people feel safe and enjoy shopping time. Discounts and promotions are also regularly offered, which is a strength of trade centers compared to small stores. As a result, more and more citizens are choosing to shop in large shopping malls, leading to a decrease in the number of people purchasing goods from small shops.

In conclusion, the proliferation of shopping malls could have positive effects on customers but it is likely to push small local businesses to the brink of bankruptcy and this is bad for the local economies.