For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teachers nurture greater children's intellectual and behavioural development compared to parents. In my perspective, the role of teachers is undoubted but we also should not evaluate lowly the importance of parental education to a child's holistic growth.

To begin with, when children start school, they spend a large proportion of time at school and with their teachers, which explains why teachers have a significant influence on children. In most countries, the average amount of time students use at school is 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, it means that in that period they will be taught fundamental everything and have social interactions with peers. In addition, there is another reason why educators have a major impact on children is that teachers are professionally trained to both teach a subject and instruct children with the most effective methods. For example, in Singapore, first of all, 1/3 of the total of students who have the highest achievement will be chosen to train to become a teacher. Normal, one in eight candidates are accepted after the rigorous selection progress. Thereafter, these people have to score at least in the middle at the A-level test which is the most difficult exam for Singapore students.

On the other hand, parents can have a substantial influence on their children because they are a child's first role model and establish the foundation for cognitive and emotional development for the first five years of a child's life. In this period of time, children have the most contact with their parents, not teachers. As is proven in the Journal of Early Childhood Research, children’s first five years is when a child’s brain develops more and faster than any other time in his or her life. It is further explained that the child’s early experiences, especially the relationship with his or her parents, stimulate the brain and create millions of connections, forming the child’s base for further development.

In conclusion, parents and teachers both play a vital role in the comprehensive development of children. While parents are the ones lay foundations for children's overall maturation, teachers make a considerable contribution to students' intellectual and social skills.