Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that economic growth is the only solution to eradicate hunger and alleviate poverty. Others, however, are concerned that the development of the economy will create negative effects on the environment. This essay will discuss both points of view and outline my perspective.

On the one hand, it is true that economic increase has taken a heavy toll on the habitat. Firstly, the ever-increasing number of industries has led to a rise in emissions into the surroundings and this is one of the major reason which has significantly grown the volume of the greenhouse gases, which are considered to be the main culprit behind global warming. Secondly, human activities, such as clearing forests for farming and overfishing, are directly responsible for the loss of natural habitat for many wild plants and animal, and ecological imbalance. For example, whaling began to boost rapidly in the mid-19th century, the world saw record whaling levels in 1927, 1929 and 1937 respectively about 13,7 thousand, 40,2 thousand and 46 thousand fishes. These hunt activities have push eight species of whales were listed as endangered species in 1970.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that economic improvement is a useful way of solving problems such as famine and poverty. Governments focus on developing their economy means that they will generate thousands of job opportunities for residents, especially those in lower classes, which would help to enhance people's living standard and put an end to starvation. In addition, this will reduce the burden on governments' budgets and they can use these findings to invest in public services such as medical care and educational system. In other words, poor people can easily access medical service and children living in families without financial conditions can go to school.

In conclusion, I believe economic enhancement can repel hunger and poverty, however, governments should also evaluate negative impacts this development on the environment.