Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that economic growth is the best way to eliminate hunger and poverty, while others contend that such growth is detrimental to nature and must be curtailed. Although such development causes damage to different natural parts of the earth, it is wise to adopt a balanced approach between environment and economic development.

the opponents of economic growth often point to the fact that the integrity of nature is impacted. Such idea is predicated on certain observations in developing countries where the quality of soil and water has been deteriorated by economic activities such as the construction of new buildings, ultimately affecting the well-being of nature. For example, the development of new residential areas often necessitates the construction of extensive road infrastructure which requires the clearance of different floral species, hence the loss of other species reliant on them. Conversely, the environment in developed countries is often clean and exhibit less significant damages than developing ones due to stricter environmental regulations on economic activities.

Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, we cannot afford to stop the economic growth as it remains the most feasible means of alleviating poverty and hunger. Developing countries often attract foreign investments into rural areas where poverty is prevalent in order to establish new industries and businesses, subsequently generating more jobs and augmenting the average living standards. In fact, similar strategies were adopted in formerly impoverished countries such as South Korea and China where the environment used to be significantly decreased. Therefore, improvements in living standards could not have been achieved without extensive economic activities. However, allowing such activities to be done without stringent environmental laws will lead to irreplaceable damage to the local environment. As a result, it is imperative for the government to minimize the impact of economic progress by, for example, imposing heavy fines on unfriendly environmental projects and inviting environmentalists to monitor and assess economic plans to ensure that the local environment will be least affected.

In conclusion, although there is some environmental damage accrued from economic activity, it is vital to introduce laws and other strategies to strike the balance between economic growth and the health of environment.