Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

the development of food chemistry has enabled us to process and store foods for much longer than we could. Even though such scientific advancement can help meet nutritional demand and keep prices stable, preservatives and food additives could be healthily detrimental.

Such preserving substances can help prolong the life span of foods before reaching customers. In today’s world, there is an increasing number of those who cannot grow vegetables or even cook for themselves due to the hectic pace of life, especially in urban areas and thus packaged foods are by and large their primary source of nourishment. Without preservatives, many of them would, therefore, decay before being consumed, thus effecting a shortage of food, essential day-to-day products, and even worse, inflating food prices unreasonably. Although being harmful to the well-being of consumers to a certain extent, such chemicals are usually under close monitor of governmental food safety regulations.

However, health problems stemming from food additives have raised concerns over the safety of users, especially the young. Such issues are prevalent in developing countries, such as Vietnam where the government cannot have sufficient resources to properly monitor the origin of substances added to foods. Furthermore, many tiny food establishments do not adhere closely to the governments’ directives on what kind of additives are safe to use. In combination, were there no severe restrictions on the usage of such chemicals in food production, a greater number of buyers would be prone to diseases, ranging from minor to fatal ones such as diarrhea and cancer. Consequently, despite the convenience of such preserving chemicals, some of them are carcinogenic and ought to be replaced by organic alternatives.

in conclusion, in spite of the benefits of ready-made foods predominately related to the ease of storage and low prices, it is imperative to invent new preservation methods to protect consumers’ health.