Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some consider it necessary for students to learn about culinary skills and the nature of food, while others argue the time at school should be spent for main subjects. Personally, although the academic subjects are of importance to a student’s academic career, students need to be equipped with sufficient nutritional knowledge to lead a healthy lifestyle.

On the on hand, it is argued that as the academic subjects account for a large proportion of a student’s GPA, most students have an urge to dedicate most of the time to review lessons or have more excercises done. Therefore, if there is an inadequate amount of time for such tasks, students will be likely in for low scores on high-stake tests such as, final-term ones. Worse still, the poor results can be an obstacle to their path to the desired university in future. Consequently, many feel reluctant to deviate from a “normal” study plan to take on other subjects.

On the other hand, some think that schools should introduce subjects on cooking and food to their curriculum, because there is a growing concern over the rates of health problems among children. This is because ready-made food with artificial sweeteners and high saturated fat content is made cheaper and tastier, which tempts young students to opt for this kind of food. As a result, the obesity trend in children is most likely upwards. However, Cooking classes can offer a nourishing option to students, as these courses enable students to prepare balanced meals, thanks to cooking skills and nutritional knowledge. More importantly, being on a healthy diet can reduce the likelihood of a student’s studies being interrupted by food-related issues, like diabetes.

In conclusion, with the increased number of overweight children in society, it is an imperative for them to be taught about cooking science at school. Otherwise, many could be prone to cardiovascular problems at middle age.