as well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities.

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

As economies have grown exponentially to a degree that there is certain imbalance between the welfare of society and its wealth, it is argued that companies should be responsible for the well-being of society, in addition to generating profit. Although many businesses would regard this a burden, in the long-term doing this can help build an economic climate conducive to the sustainable development of businesses.

it is widely believed that the responsibility for addressing social maladies lies strictly with the government. This is simply because only the authorities have human and financial resources as well as legislative power to combat substantive problems, such as unemployment rate, pollution or crime rates, all of which are apparently beyond a company’s capabilities. Furthermore, should an establishment be compelled to remedy such problems by, for example, contributing more than their income tax, they will likely deem this as an appropriation of their capital, thus being extremely reluctant to do it, or even trying to evade such vital social obligations.

Nevertheless, in fact there is numerous scientific evidence proving that by fulfilling its civic duty, businesses have created solid foundations for their further growth. To illustrate this, were a business to forgo its employees’ benefits and the integrity of environment, in which it is functioning, for its economic gains, then the employer would highly anticipate not only a high turnover but also environmental lawsuits with the result that the business would be made unviable. In contrast, when they can obtain the equilibrium between economic expansion and the well-being of people and nature, not only do they thrive in a stable environment but also become an attraction to highly competent workers. It should, however, be of note that such social accountability should be made manageable so as not to hinder a company’s growth.

in conclusion, the concerns over the loss of gains should not be allowed to discourage businessmen from fighting for a good cause, which will profit society as a whole. Otherwise, a society could be at a risk of instability.