As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road system. Some people think that the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the users should pay for the cost.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An increasing number of automobiles on the streets mean more resources are used for the improvement of road infrastructure. Opinions are divided as to whether such responsibility should lie with the government or road users. Although individual users should be responsible for the costs, the government needs to play a larger role.

The advocates of user-funded road infrastrucutre argue that motorists are the main users of the roads and therefore, they are the biggest beneficiaries. As a result, they should finance the maintenance and construction of roads through increased taxes or fees. Although this can impose higher fees on vehicle owners, this approach can not only ensure that the road network is utilized efficiently but also the system will be well maintained regularly to keep up with growing wear and tear. Furthermore, this user-funding scheme also enables the government to invest in less-developed areas where there is the scarcity of general infrasturcture.

However, the aforementioned idea is unfair as a large propotion of the expenditures for construction and upkeep of a country’s roads comes from the national budget which is created through tax collection. Moreover, not all car owners travel as much as others. Thus, were they forced to bear the full road-building and maintenance costs, the majority of them – especially those with low and middle incomes - would strive to evade such duty, with the result that many roads would fall into disrepair. Such problem will certainly cripple the functioning of a society which will eventually necessitate governmental intervention to resolve the issue.

In conclusion, the government should play a significant role in the improvement of a nation’s road infrastructure as they are the only tax collector who is consequently required to conduct major roadwork, although road users can contribute to this costs if necessary.