as the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road system. Some people think that the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the users should pay for the cost.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As the number of cars on the road increases, the demand for a better road system increases accordingly. There are two competing viewpoints on who should be responsible for the cost of improving and maintaining the road system.

On one hand, some believe that the government should be responsible for paying for the road system improvements, as it is a public good that benefits society as a whole. Governments have the resources and ability to construct and maintain roads nationwide. Additionally, some argue that it is unfair to burden individual vehicle owners with the cost of road improvements since not all individuals contribute equally to the wear and tear on the roads.

On the other hand, there are those who believe that the users of the road system should be responsible for the cost. Since car owners are the biggest beneficiaries of the road system, it is argued that they should pay more towards road infrastructure improvements, either through increased taxes or fees. This approach ensures that those who benefit the most from the road system are the ones who bear the cost of maintaining it.

In my opinion, a hybrid solution would be best. Governments should fund the construction and maintenance of public roads, as they are necessary for the functioning of society. However, individual car owners should also contribute to the cost of this upkeep through taxes and tolls. This approach ensures that there is a balance between government responsibility and individual user responsibility. It is important to recognize that roads are a public good, but personal responsibility also needs to be taken into account when it comes to funding improvements to the road system.