As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road system. Some people think that the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the users should pay for the cost.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An increasing number of automobiles on the streets mean more resources are used for the improvement of road infrastructure. Opinions are divided as to whether such responsibility should lie with the government or road users. Personally, I think both sides should bear the costs of the construction as well as upkeep of road system.

The advocates of a government-funded road network base their belief on the fact that only the authorities have the financial clout to implement such enormous work. In fact, the majority of vehicle owners do not have enough resources to cover the expenses beyond their household ones as most of them have a low or medium income. Were they forced to take full responsibility for a nationwide road system, they would likely evade such duty. This means a large proportion of the road system would fall into disrepair, thus crippling the local economy. And eventually the government has to shoulder the costs of repairs so as to revive the economy.

The opponents of the aforementioned idea argue that motorists should be made accountable for the upgrade and maintained of road infrastructure. This is because they are the main users of the system and therefore, the biggest beneficiaries. As a result, they should bear the costs of the road improvements through increased taxes or fees. Although this might impose a heavier tax burden on vehicle owners, such approach can not only ensure that roads and bridges can be well maintained but also enable the government to invest in other key areas.

However, a hybrid solution would be the best. Governments should pay for the construction and maintained of state roads since these tasks incur substantial expenditures that not many can afford, while individuals should contribute to such costs through taxes and tolls. This proposal can ensure a balance between governmental and individual responsibilities, leading to the sustainable development of society.

In conclusion, it is important to recognize roads as a public good that requires equal attention from both the government and individuals to keep it in good condition.