In many places, people’s lifestyle is changing rapidly, and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of those developments outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's hustle and bustle society, people tend to change their lifestyle to match that of others and this trend has been proved to have an adverse effect on personal relationships with their friends and family members. Although there are some advantage benefits can be gained from changes regarding lifestyle, the cons definitely outweigh the pros for the following reasons.

On the one hand, a rapid change in a persons' lifestyle may lessen the amount of time to spend with family members. First of all, in a fiercely competitive society today, people have been trying to stay at late in the workplace, since they can strive to be an efficient worker by putting in extra hours at work. For example, In Japan, the Japanese not only work in legal time, almost of them will not leave work at 5.PM but they will continue to work until 7 or 8 P. M or later. Therefore, they hardly any time is left for family members to bond over a meal or a family trip.

Secondly, with the technology boom, many residents have been applying technology in every aspect of life such as interaction and communication between family members. As people adopt a lifestyle to fit the pace of modern life, they tend to utilize means possible to make interactions quicker and more efficient, namely email, fax, text messages, social media, so on. Consequently, the needs to talk to other people in person is minimized in our everyday life and this contrast with the basis of family interaction and communication. Because that are stemmed from face-to-face conversations which is the optimal means of getting to know one another, bonding with each other, and conveying our emotions.

In conclusion, although a change in lifestyle is sometimes necessary in some cases to boost efficiency in the workplace or modern society in general, people should refrain from constantly changing their's lifestyle as family relationships may suffer due to this trend.