To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, countries should make use of edible insects as food. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but negatively affect nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In today’s world, it is widely perceived that people should ingest edible insect species to meet the demand of food supply for increasing population. Incorporating insects into diet can have some major merits, but there will also be certain demerits.

One evident benefit to embracing insects as food is that it was regarded as a great source of nutritional elements. In fact, bugs could contain up to 80% protein and also be high in energy-rich fat, fiber and micronutrients. For instance, mealworms are particularly nutritious with high vitamin content, loads of healthy minerals and protein, almost as much as in an equivalent amount of beef. Another justification for entomophagy is that it might be a cost-effective solution to a global food crisis. Indeed, insect consumption would slash cultivation costs rather than conventional agriculture practices, thereby improving food insecurity in some developing countries with lower expense.

The disadvantages of making bugs part of our regular diet, however, are indisputable. First of all, safety concerns could not be guaranteed when ingesting insects as it hinders several hazardous problems. In other words, numerous insects feed on decaying matter or arise from poor hygiene, resulting in a variety of bacteria in their bodies. This would therefore make consumers susceptible to foodborne illnesses or allergic hazards when eating insect-derived food. it should be noted that insectivory will upset the natural food chain if humans consume insects with a gigantic quantity. Were people to constantly catch bugs for selling and eating, they would considerably dip in population or even be in danger of extinction, which might disrupt other animals’ food source.

In sum, while bug-eating is beneficial, it is detrimental to ingesting bugs in an improper way.