Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspapers and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is perceived that the detailed criminal depiction reported in the media has a detrimental impact on viewers; therefore, it should be limited. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement as it hinders numerous hazardous concerns.

There are a number of compelling reasons why perpetrators should not be reported meticulously, one of which is to provoke copycat behavior. Indeed, the particular portrayal of crime via the media may inspire other culprits to breach rules in a similar fashion. This would therefore increase advanced methods learnt from former criminal descriptions in conducting other cases. For instance, Nguyen Duc Nghia, who committed a heinous crime, cut off and hid each part of his ex-girlfriend's body in different locations after killing her, which made it particularly challenging for the police to uncover the facts and then was presented widely in the media. Following this misdeed, a number of other cases with comparable tricks that are even more sophisticated have occurred in recent years.

Another justification for my view is that the detailed presentation of delinquents via the mass media might adversely affect people’s psyche. In fact, reconstructing the crime places too much emphasis on negative aspects, thereby exacerbating the victim’s trauma and causing extreme emotional and psychological distress to their relatives, especially when they are no longer alive. In addition, the over-presentation of crimes might lead to a form of moral panic among the general public. In fact, there appears to be a correlation between media consumption and fear of crime. Due to the sense of insecurity after reading these perpetrator’s depictions through the press or televisions, they tend to distrust the community and limit connections with others. As a result, it could lead to an indifferent community where people are not willing to support others in need.

In sum, I completely oppose the idea of giving such criminal reporting on the press and TV because it triggers copycat crimes and people’s fear reflexes. It is advisable that the details of the crimes should be banned to mitigate its adverse impacts on viewers.