Over the past decades, exploration of entities in outer space never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although universal research has achieved unexpected results, the issue as to whether governments should spend a lot of money on space travelling or not remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, the investment in space research can be paid off in the future for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is important to recognize that our planet is dealing with natural resource shortage, exhausting fossil resource problems. Many argue that these problems can be tackled by creating new artificial material to supersede conventional resources. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that many natural resources cannot be replaced easily and the policy of using alternative materials is long-term and waste money strategy. For example, rare metals such as gold, silver, which are eventually be depleted as industrial production expands, are rare on the Earth but it might exist at huge amount in another planet outer. This example indicates that universal discovery is considerable approach to address exhausting resource problems.

Secondly, it is equally important to recognize that space research contribute significant knowledge about natural phenomena in the Earth. Opponents may argue that these contributions are just a minor of the issue because many phenomena occurring in our planet such as global warming, raising of sea level, the loss of rainforests and others are caused by overexploitation of human. This argument is reasonable to some extent, but they are ignorant of the fact that the interaction between the Earth and universe, space objects and our planet is essential, curial in finding solution for natural problems. For instance, human and other creatures on the Earth can avoid an explosion caused by collision between meteorites and the Earth by controlling and changing the orbit of meteorites before they approach the Earth. This example shows that space exploration plays an instrumental role in predicting the threatens to living in the Earth in general and human in particular.

In conclusion, in no circumstances should governments reduce budget for space research because it not only resolve the resource shortage problems but also prove pivotal knowledge to adjust natural phenomena on the Earth as mentioned above.