Modern lifestyles are completely different from the way people lived in the past. Someone think the changes have been very positive, while others believe they have been negative.

Discuss both these points of view and give your opinion.

The contemporary era, with rapid improvement in technology, has changed our daily lifestyles to a point that it is unrecognizable for someone who lived just decades ago. To many people, this is a sign of a modern, convenient world whereas others would consider it in a pessimistic view.

First and foremost, the greatest benefit offered by a modern lifestyle is the high standards of living. Healthcare system as well as transportation facilities have enhanced to such an advanced level that most of the fundamental needs are now being easily catered. Life expectancy has steadily rising and many incurable diseases of the past have been wiped out are examples of improved healthcare. The norm of air aviation have showed the effects of modern transportation in our daily lives. Furthermore, with the aid of machines, human are free from hard, laborious work such as occupations in agricultural sectors or in assembly lines. Modern lifestyles truly changes our society and the way we live and work.

Not only do the modern lifestyle offer benefits but it also has its own drawbacks. With the life being heavily influenced by technology and globalization, many people – especially the youth are starting to neglect their culture. Traditional songs and folk dances are at great risk of being disappeared, harming the cultural diversity in many regions. Moreover, the isolation made by the modern, independent way of living might deteriorate the relationship, as well as causing various mental illnesses such as depression, mental disorders, etc... Our current way of living has its disadvantages beside its benefits.

To sum up, while the modern lifestyle does offer us great benefits, it also causes several problems to our culture and our health. In my opinion, I believe that the modern way of living does have its positive side, but we should integrate the progressive beliefs in traditional customs in order to enhance and improve our modern lifestyle.