Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that government should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society; those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views about the government’s policy to give incentives to students who choose subjects that match to the needs of their society. While I accept this policy can sometimes have positive effect on the students, I believe that this is more likely to have a harmful impact.

On the one hand, there is a major argument in favor of focusing more on some specific essential curriculum by governments. When government supports students who study certain fields that are important for society, students can be offered a golden opportunity to get a good job as soon as they are graduated since their community needs their skills and experts which would need happen if they studied irrelevant subjects. However, on the long-term period, it would certainly be that higher numbers of students enroll in these subjects and would later lead to the abundance of this workforce. As a result, the rate of unemployment will increase if the authorities follow this policy.

On the other hand, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, the students attracted by the funding may not have real interest in or aptitude for that subject. Such students may drop out before graduation or after working only a short time in a related job. Furthermore, funding on group of students but not others would penalize these with a genuine interest and ability for another field. Such discrimination would certainly affect the whole of higher education of the country and students would develop very negative attitude towards going to university altogether. This would be very counter-productive for any countries.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this educational policy are more significant than the possible benefits.