Modern technology has been used more and more in different aspects of our lives, such as education. Do the advantages of using technology as an educational tool outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, technology seems to become an indispensable part of human life when it overwhelmingly appears in numerous distinct fields, particularly in education, in which opinions diverge on whether the use of technology does students a disservice. Although there exist a handful of disadvantages, they are overshadowed by some noticeable advantages.

Perceptibly, the presence of technology in the classroom has an adverse bearing on the level of student’s concentration. This can be explained that there is an abundant source of entertainment available on internet platforms, for example, games, social media, videos, which drags students out of teachers’ lectures. Hence, the learners who do not have enough self-discipline will immerse themselves into these attractive/tempting things, which results in their mediocre study records.

In spite of its negative connotation, the application of technology to education can be seen in a positive light owing to time-saving and remote-learning assistance for students. First, upon searching tools, students can approach the abundant reference resources quickly/swiftly just with only one click in lieu of wasting hours in the library at some points in the distant past. Moreover, technology extends a helping hand not only in looking for information but also completing tasks when numerous editing as well as calculating apps aid students in finishing their homeworks more quickly and accurately. Second, technology goes a long way towards learning online. When a pandemic transpires seriously in a lavish scale, which obligates people to keep their distance from each other, remote learning with the support of IT emerges as the only one solution salvaging students from education interruption. Therefore, the benefits which technology offers are undeniable.

By way of conclusion, notwithstanding aforementioned drawbacks, the advantages of technology in education outweigh the reverse.