Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

The pervasive spread of the Internet around the world made the diffusion of the culture much easier and faster than before. Nowadays it's very easy to obtain in a few seconds any kind of book or song, even those who are protected by copyright. I think this tendency is negative at first but, on the long term it can boost the legal digital market of artistic contents.

Every market needs to be profitable: the music and the book industry are not exceptions. The authors are not amateurs and they have the right to have an income to sustain themself and to keep doing their artistic activity on a full time basis. With the possibility to take every content for free, the quality of the contents itself is destined to decline, because nobody is committed to invest energy, time and money without a return. For instance, we are witnessing a dramatic decline in the purchases of new CDs and concerts' tickets, because a growing number of people does not want to pay for music; even the readers are in constant decline a bit everywhere for the same reasons.

Some people argue that the diffusion of digital contents on on the web is positive for the cultural enrichment of many individuals who does not have an easy access to the legal market, due to environmental or economic reasons. This statement is true, but if all the consumers were acting in this way, the market would collapse in a few time. Indeed, the market has adapted itself to an increasingly demand of digital music and sound, providing them legally, instead breaching the legit rights of the authors. The services who offer legal music or streaming download are undoubtedly increasing as well as the offer of ebooks, so the overall cost for the final customer is declining considering that a digital copy is much cheaper than a phisyc one.

To sum up, the diffusion of copyrighted material for free is a negative trend because basically it harms the authors' income and the overall health of the market, but, on the same it can improve de overall demand of legal songs and books.