There is no doubt that technology has taken over every aspects of our lives including communication. Although it has facilitated the transmission of information in terms of speed and opportunities, it has also threatened existence of face to face interaction as well as made people susceptible to cyber-crimes. This essay will discuss the positive and negative sides of technology for communicating.

Looking firstly at the advantages, technology has engendered unprecedented development in communication sector. One of the most obvious benefits is that owing to the blessings of technology, people can communicate with their loved one’s instantly. In other words, even if anyone lives on the farthest corner of the planet, with the aid of technology, they can connect with their dearest persons at any given moment. For instance, prevalence of video chatting has enabled people not only to transfer audios but also to share live videos at the same time regardless of the geographical barriers. In contrast, face to face communication requires someone to be physically present for exchange of conversation, which is often not possible if the other person is living overseas. Therefore, it is quite evident that technology has brought people just one click away regarding communication.

Nevertheless, technology based communication is not exempt from drawbacks. Firstly, our everyday life is being supplanted by the virtual communication network of technology. This is because majority of the people are becoming so much obsessed with technology that they have cut themselves off the surroundings, which is hampering their social relationship to a great extent. To make matters worse, since they resort to online communication rather than direct interaction with a person, they suffer from loneliness; thus, ultimately falling prey to depression. Unlike face to face communication, virtual conversation can never replace the joy and pleasure that is associated with realistic confabulation. Secondly, people can be targeted by cyber criminals in online communication methods. To clarify, cyber offenders can gain access to confidential or personal information, which can be used to blackmail someone. Consequently, this could result in defamation of the victim’s reputation and status.

In conclusion, while technology has bestowed superfast communication and other conveniences upon us, it has also lessened social interaction among people and made people vulnerable to cyber-crimes.