In recent times, maintaining discipline in the school is becoming a challenging task. Some people are of the opinion that it is the duty of a teacher to discipline the students, whereas others believe that parents are more suitable for this job. In my opinion, parents need to put greater effort in disciplining their child since children spend most of the time with their parents.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why some people want teachers to instill the sense of discipline into the children. One of the most obvious reasons for this is that majority of the students consider their mentor as a role model for them. This is because teachers impart the knowledge of not only academic subjects but also the moral qualities to their students. In other words, since teachers are idol to them, students would be more appreciative and receptive to learn discipline from their tutor. For instance, Japanese pupils learn disciplinary lessons from a very early period of their lives, because their teacher inculcates good manners into them before teaching them academic lessons. However, the downside of this thinking is that neither all the impoverished children can afford to go to school nor the teachers of all the countries have the means to teach discipline apart from the school curriculum.

On the other hand, other people opine that parents should be the one teaching discipline to the children and I completely agree with that. The reason behind this is that children are imitative because of which they emulate what they observe. Since parents are the first person with whom a child comes into contact, they mostly mimic their parent compared to any other person. If the parents plant the seed of discipline earlier in their offspring’s mind, then those kids will grow up knowing the importance of discipline from the beginning of their life. In contrast, most of the children usually spend less than one-third of their time with their teacher, which is not enough for them to grasp the basic knowledge of discipline. Therefore, it is quite evident that parents can play a key role to discipline their child rather than the teachers.

In conclusion, while other people may vary in their opinion, I think that parents are the one responsible for teaching the children about discipline, because children often follow their parents more than anyone else, which makes it easier for the parents to install the importance of self-discipline to them.