There is no doubt that population explosion in the cities is taking a heavy toll on government and its citizen. Although an increased number of people are migrating to urban areas with the ambition to get well-paid jobs and opportunities, this shifting is giving rise to serious problems such as lack of housing and increased rate of unemployment. This essay will discuss the impact of population growth in the cities and propose some measures to address the problems.

Looking firstly at the problems, one of the most major drawbacks of overpopulation is the accommodation problem. This is because, as more people move to towns, this places usually become congested with people, which limit the number of apartments for people to stay. Consequently, these migrant workers can not but live on the streets miserably. For instance, Bangladesh witnessed a 25% rise in the number of homeless people in the last decade when flocks of peasants from rural areas over-flooded the cities. Another obvious issue is the aggravation of unemployment problem. While population is surging exponentially, the job market is not being able to keep pace with it. Therefore, majority of the countries are unable to meet the employment demands of the growing population.

To combat these issues, two effective solutions can be implemented. Firstly, government needs to provide more incentives for the people to stay in the countryside. For example, government can relocate the branches of some industrial and commercial offices to rural areas so that they can hire people living on those areas; thus, providing them with the chance to earn more money without moving to cities. Another possible solution is to increase the facilities for the farmers. This can be done by subsidizing the agricultural sectors and distributing fertilizers and other farming equipments to them at a low price. As a result, people would find a new impetus to make a livelihood out of farming in the rural areas instead of moving to cities.

In conclusion, overpopulation can breed many problems, namely compelling people to become homeless and worsen the unemployment situation; however, these problems are not insurmountable. I think government should be responsible to tackle this problem and it should start by taking the above mentioned steps.