The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities.

What problems does overpopulation in cities cause?

How can these problems be solved?

The prospects, which cities offer, appeal to a great of people in need of employment. However, when urban areas are excessively populated, it frequently leads to some negative implications. This essay will consider these consequences and suggest possible solutions to them.

Let us with difficulties that newcomers pose on cities in search of jobs and prospect. The first problem is that it often leads to house scarcity. More households want to possess a house of their own, but cities cannot accommodate their needs immediately, so many people have to live either in cramped flats or in the street, which pose much inconvenience to other citizens as well as city authorities. Another problem is that it usually results in high unemployment. The flow of immigrants in cities may aggravate the situation with absence of jobs, so many citizens will complain that newcomers have taken their workplaces. Furthermore, it may result in more congestions on the roads. The volume of traffic will increase to the level, when it will become impossible for people to commute to work on time, because more new citizens will settle in the city and purchase cars as well.

To tackle these challenges the government should take the following steps. Firstly, city governors should build more apartments. To deal with a growing number of the homeless, the officials should allocate more of the budget for construction of apartment buildings, so that more families will obtain housing. Secondly, with financial aid of authorities, more entrepreneurs should open new companies. The government can promote companies to set up new business by loans at low interest rates and, therefore, provide more vacancies in the labor market, which will secure the unemployed with jobs and lower the resentment in society. Moreover, city architects should reconstruct narrow streets. Construction companies should either widen highways or make some road one-side in order to achieve reduction of jams on the roads caused by the flow of immigrants.

In conclusion, although the flow of job and opportunity seekers to cities may lead to a plenty of problems, it is possible to solve them, if the government take the above mentioned actions.