Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people says trees should be planted in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while other says housing facilities should be built instead.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an issue about how unoccupied lands in urban areas should be used. Some ecologists advocate the idea of planting trees in these places to protect nature, while some developers suggest to use them for construction projects. This essay will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of greening cities.

Let us begin with reasons why some ecologists say that people should exploit free city areas to grow trees. The first reason is that trees absorb carbon dioxide in urban areas. People in cities suffocate of exhaust gases, so arranging green areas along the roads can reduce the level of green house gases. Another reason is that green areas in cities can home small wild animals and birds. Apart from citizens, different creatures, such as cats, dogs and birds, dwell in cities, but unlike people, they cannot live in houses, so greens zones would be suitable for them as natural habitats. Furthermore, trees in streets can stop soil erosion. Earth in city areas tend to degrade over a long time, but the roots of trees usually prevent it when it rains and weakens the soil.

However, some developers believe that inhabitants should build both apartments and office rooms. They justify their point of views with the following arguments. First of all, there is an acute housing shortage in cities. Councils should turn available places in urban territories into residential areas either for the homeless or people in need. Secondly, new offices, built on previously unoccupied city areas would stimulate more businessmen to open companies. Entrepreneurs often complain that cities have no appropriate buildings for offices. Thus, vacant areas in the city should be used for the development of new office spaces. Finally, more workplaces will appear in the construction industry. New construction sites will secure employment in cities, so citizens can always find a job when the rest of the world experiences high rates of joblessness.

In conclusion, although some builders suggest constructing buildings in vacant areas in cities, I think that it is more reasonable to use these places in an eco-friendly way.