It is happening in some cities that people are choosing to live far from city centers where their workplaces are located, therefore, they are required to travel a longer distance to work day by day. This, in turn, creates some serious issues such as traffic jam and pollution. The aim of this essay is to provide some solutions to these severe problems.

In order to provide effective solutions, one needs to discover the underlying reasons for the problem. Two main reasons are behind the rise of people’s decision of living in the countryside rather than in the urban. First and foremost, the cost of living in the city which includes room rent and living cost is usually much higher than that in the countryside. In order to encourage people to settle in the city, several measures can be taken by responsible authorities. Firstly, the rent expense in cities should be supported or lower than before. Secondly, the city authorities also can attract people by constructing a number of facilities such as gym, school, mall center, and park.

The second reason is that people would like to enjoy their life in a peaceful area which avoiding pollution in big cities. To tackle this concern, the government should make an attempt to effectively solve both air and noise pollution, more funding should be allocated to studying this aspect. In doing so, people may be more willing to live in big cities.

Another good idea to reduce the number of people travel the long distance to work is to encourage some business to reallocate and move their office to the countryside. By this way, many people will be more satisfied with both their life and job.

To conclude, although the issues of traffic congestion and pollution are increasingly serious resulting from people living far from the city, these problems also can be remedied by some suitable measures indicated above.