More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Work from home is popularly known as, WFH. It is one of the impacts of technology. Many companies are turning out to be flexible enough to encourage their employees to opt for WFH as much as possible. I strongly agree with the author that the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages.

Work from home policy allows employees to work as per their convenience. This is a great benefit for all the employees to eliminate the travel time and they can utilize this time to work on office projects or for their personal use. This policy is not eliminating travel time but also stopping employees from causing pollutions. This policy is also helping nature by knowingly or unknowingly. If a company chooses to offer WFH to their's employees as a full-time work option then the company is in no need of office workspace which constitutes of air conditioning, generators that are harmful to the environment. Again, environment pollution is controlled and the cost to the company is heavily saved.

There are some disadvantages to this policy. But they can be avoided. WFH may result in the communication gap between the employees. Cultural differences can also be seen as one of the disadvantages but it is not a major one and it can be solved by organizing cultural events or team outings or get-together often. Loss of productivity is considered to be a major disadvantage and all the companies follow their protocol on this issue, such as tracking the task status given to the employees by online tracking portals, daily standup meetings where all the team members should update their status to the team leader and many more options are available in this. Accountability and security are also considered to be disadvantages.

In the above paragraph, we can see that there are more advantages than disadvantages and even disadvantages are not critical and they can be solved by using a few strict measures.

To conclude, work from home policy is economic for both the employer and the employees and It is a convenient and flexible approach for the daily problems faced by the employees