Today, it has become more common for companies to ask their employees to work from home rather than coming to the work-place. Most of the companies today are giving their employees the benefit of working from the comfort of their homes. In this essay, I will be discussing if this policy benefits the company more than inflicting harm.

There are many advantages attached to this latest trend. Firstly, it allows the company to save on their expenditure. Working from home means there is no requirement of big office spaces. Next to it, they also do not need furniture, computers and even consumables. This saves the companies big amounts on rent, electricity and other amenities like coffee machines or toiletries, etc. On the other hand, it also benefits the employees big time. Not only does working from home saves on the fuel cost, but it also has an added advantage to the environment by reducing pollution. Besides, it also saves their valuable time which they spent on getting stuck in traffic. Now, they can spend this time doing something mundane like responding to the emails which would have otherwise taken their precious productive hours. In fact, recent research has shown that working from home increased the productivity of the employees by 20% as it cut down on their travelling time.

However, there are certain disadvantages to this policy. First off, this reduces the social culture of the workspace. Many employees believe that a good social culture helps them bond with their colleagues. It is an important aspect of teamwork which cannot be achieved by working at home. Moreover, it creates deficiency of jobs for people like office admins, security guards and office boys.

To conclude, I would suggest that the upsides of working from home surely exceed the drawbacks of this policy. Not only is it good for the productivity of the employees but also good on the environment. As it saves on valuable resources like electricity and helps to reduce our carbon footprint.