More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

The problem related to increase of workers` productivity and quality of job has always been significant for employers. Nowadays the number of freelancers and labors of prosperous corporations working from home gains momentum. I am convinced that this tendency is positive due to the reasons marked hereinafter.

I strongly believe that online job is beneficial for it helps save time and do not waste it on reaching to the workplaces. To put it differently, due to the globalization and traffic congestions, the time, workers spend on commuting, is high. For example, according to the survey held by Moscow Sociological University, overwhelming majority of city dwellers waste more than ten hours a week in the road. Thus, in order to save employees` precious time, managers may encourage endeavours of their staff to work from home.

However veracious it sounds, I would not agree with the opinion that remote work is negative, due to its positive impact on labours` motivation and mood. Admittedly, if individuals complete their job online, they will be possible to spend more hours with their family members. Therefore, an opportunity to be with the nearEST and dearEST contribute to improvement of workers` spirits and provide more passion to labour. For instance, over the covid-19 pandemic, when almost all the office employees worked from home, spouses and children helped people to stay emotionally stable and not get depressed. Hence, emotional condition, which is considered to be significant for efficient work process, may be supported by the permission to do the job online.

To conclude, in my opinion, labour at home is a positive tendency due to the lack of necessity to waste extra time on transport. Moreover, it fosters to the improvement of employees mood and desire to work.