• Task 2: Research indicates that nowadays some consumers are much less influenced by advertising than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is recorded that advertising has a less impact on people’s choices compared to that in the past. In my opinion, there are some factors about consumer’s belief and new ways of researching products, which leads to this phenomenon and I refer to that as a positive development.

It is transparent that the decrease effect on consumers of advertising stems from two main reasons. First, less people have trust in information from advertisements in this day and age because there are a lot of deceitful advertisements confusing consumers. For example, on shoppe web, many stores post pictures of stunning, gorgeous clothes in order to attract buyers but these products have a low quality in real life. That disappoints consumers and advertisers tend to lose their effect. Second, new access to products emerges and replaces advertisements. Nowadays, the young generation prefer searching for reviews about products on online platforms rather than looking at advertisements as they suppose that they have more helpful information about products.

The smaller influence of advertising is beneficial for customers and companies. To begin with, when advertisements are not as appealing as in the past, businesses relocate money from advertisements to research for enhancing the quality of products. Thanks to that, consumers have better goods to choose from and the companies are more prestigious. In addition, people witness a remarkable fall in the number of advertisements with fake information because that is not effective. Hence, consumers do not need to waste money on low quality products.

In conclusion, there is the lack of trust and review videos, which reduce the influence of advertising and that is supposed to be a good change.