More and more people are living in big cities these days. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for society and individuals?

Nowadays, there are more and more people living in big cities. Most people like being in the big city because of the advantages it has over the countryside. However, is it really the best choice? In this essay, I will point out the advantages and disadvantages of living in a big city.

Let’s start looking at the advantages.One of the most useful points of big cities is that you can find shop in every corner of the city.This means you can buy any necessary items without going far to find them.For example: banks, supermarkets, restaurants,... So your life becomes much more convenient and easier. Moreover, there are many job opportunities in the big city. This is also one of the main reasons that everyone wants to live in a big city. Finally, the big cities have a lot of entertainment areas where everyone wants to come after grueling and stressful hours of study or work.

Turning to the other side of the argument.Traffic is one of the major disadvantages of living in a big city. Indeed, Apart from peak hours, the time between 8 am to 9 am and between 4 pm to 5 pm also witnesses long lines of vehicles, mainly motorbikes, struggling to get out of narrow streets. This happens in many major cities in Vietnam. In addition, there is consequently a lot of smog and this can really affect people’s health.

In conclusion, although some people think living in big cities causes a great deal of drawbacks, I strongly restate that this tendency creates many advantages.